Coastal Knits

Of course I didn’t need another knitting book. I was at Maine Fiber Frolic on June 4 and because they have a table of resale books in the used equipment barn I naturally looked through the stacks to see if there was anything I wanted. I found 2 good books on weaving (my newest passion) and this wonderful book, Coastal Knits, by Alana Dakos and Hannah Fettig.  The photos of the scenery on both coasts are gorgeous. The sweaters and shawls are stunning. coastal-knits-cover

For my initial project (which starts on page 58) I chose to work on the Rustling Leaves Beret by Alana Dakos because

a) it’s so pretty, and
b) I need a beret to keep my hair contained while riding in my husband’s ancient sports car, and
c) well, frankly I could get it done quickly and get back to working on my next weaving project, which I think is going to be a scarf.

I had some red (I hate to use the word but here it is) acrylic sock yarn that looked like a good possibility for this project. Forgive me but I no longer know what brand of yarn it is. I bought the skein in Cumming, Georgia a few years ago thinking I would use it to make socks for someone who doesn’t like to wear wool. I wish I did know what brand it is because the hat turned out beautifully. I might even have enough yarn left over for a pair of fingerless mittens. Here is my finished beret prior to washing.

red-rustling-leaves-beret
Red Rustling Leaves Beret

Would I make this hat again? Yes, a resounding YES.

I hope to make other patterns from this book in the future. In the meantime I do want to try to make at least one pattern from every knitting book I own and to write about the experience, so that might not happen for a while.  It is tempting though. And I’ve never been one to consistently stick to a plan. So don’t hold me to it.

3 thoughts on “Coastal Knits”

  1. wandering around Ravelry, I found a link to your blog. I had no idea you wrote one, but now I do so I look forward to reading more of your righting! the hat is adorable. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment